Foundation Phase

 b_500_500_0_00___images_jo_reading.jpgOur Foundation Phase

The Foundation Phase is an approach to learning for children form 3-7 years in Wales.

The Foundation Phase places great emphasis on children learning by doing. At Crindau our children are given opportunities to gain first-hand experiences through play and active involvement both indoors and out.

The Foundation Phase curriculum is divided into 7 areas of learning:

       1.Personal and Social Development, Well-being and Cultural Diversity

       2.Language, Literacy and Communication

       3.Mathematical Development

       4.Welsh Development

       5.Knowledge and Understanding of the World

       6.Physical Development

       7.Creative Development

Through our Foundation Phase curriculum we focus on developing each child’s:

  • Skills and understanding
  • Self-esteem
  • Positive attitude towards learning
  • Well-being
  • Independence in their learning